Mammoth Memory

The Alimentary Canal

The elements of the alimentary canal are: 

1.  Salivary glands (in the mouth)

2.  Oesophagus

3.  Stomach

4.  Pancreas

5.  Liver

6.  Gallbladder

7.  Small intestine

8.  Large intestine

9.  Rectum

10. Anus

The following story should enable you to recall all the parts of the alimentary canal in the right order:


Introduction mnemonic of the alimentary canal

Sherlock Holmes decided his landlady needed a break, so he sent her on a canal boat holiday. “You’re so kind,” she says. “Alimentary (alimentary canal), my dear!” Sherlock replies.

More Info