Mammoth Memory

Trefah – Forbidden food; food that does not comply with Jewish dietary laws; not kosher

(Pronounced treh-fah)

The trespassers went far (trefah) into the woods to find food, but they were caught and not allowed to eat it.

The trespassers went far (trefar) into the woods to find food, but they were caught and not allowed to eat it.

 

Food that is not allowed for followers of Judaism includes shellfish, pork products and food from any animal that has not been slaughtered according to Jewish law (see kosher for more details).

Orthodox Jews keep all the rules regarding food, to the extent that some have separate utensils and fridges for the preparation and storage of meat and dairy products. 

Reform Jews, however, often choose which rules about diet to follow, and which to disregard.

 
 
 
 
More Info